You are here:   Awards
  |  Login

All nominations for NDCTE Awards must be sent to the appropriate parties by June 15th.

These awards rely heavily on the generosity of colleagues to recognize the excellence and unique circumstances of ND ELA teachers.  Please take the time to complete as many nominations as you feel able.  These recognitions can only happen when we prove dedicated enough to appreciate the hard work of their peers.

Winners will be recognized at the NDCTE Awards Luncheon held each year during our Summer Conference.

If you have questions about nomination procedures, please email the board at:


2014 Award Recipients -- NDCTE Treasurer Sue Anderson poses with her husband Keith after being named TOY (bottom left); ND author Louise Erdrich receives the 2014 NDCTE Literary Artist from NDCTE President-elect Heather Woods (bottom center); NDCTE TOY Bridget Ryberg receives her plaque from colleague Eileen Zygarlicke (bottom right); Adam Dodd delivers his acceptance speech after being named the Linda Christenson Scholarship recipient (top left)

The NDCTE has established several awards to recognize teachers, artists, and businesses who have greatly contributed to the profession of English Language Arts instruction. 


NDCTE Teacher of the Year Award

The NDCTE Board will annually select a Teacher of the Year recognizing the special contributions to the students, colleagues, and profession of our state. The teacher must be a member in good standing of NDCTE. The selection will be based on colleagues or administrators completing a nomination and letters of reference.

Nominate someone for NDCTE Teacher of the Year by filling out this form:


Linda S. Christenson Literary Scholarship

A $500 scholarship will be awarded annually to an English/Language Arts teacher who is in his or her first two years of teaching in North Dakota. Applicants need not be a member of NDCTE. The scholarship will be awarded based on at least one letter of recommendation from a teacher or administrator and an essay from the teacher being nominated. The 2018 essay topic is "What does student engagement mean to you?"

Nominate someone for the Linda S. Christenson Literary Scholarship by filling out this form:


NDCTE Service to the Profession

This award recognizes a person, business, or organization that provides support to NDCTE in an extraordinary capacity. The recipient need not be a member of NDCTE. The NDCTE Board will grant Service to the Profession Awards as needed.

Nominate someone for the NDCTE Service to the Profession by filling out this form:


John Wall Promising Artist Scholarship

This $500 student scholarship is awarded to a student who shows great promise in his or her pursuit of a career as a creative artist.

Nominate a student for the John Wall Promising Artist Scholarship by filling out this form:


The NDCTE Literary Artist Award

The NDCTE Literary Artist Award is selected by the board to recognize those authors who have inspired our membership, contributed to our classrooms, or reflected and added value to the artistic and literary culture of our state.


NCTE Awards
NCTE presents several awards each year to recognize outstanding teachers of English language arts and literacy at all levels and to support teachers’ efforts to enhance their knowledge and teaching skills. Select from the links below to learn more about each award. Here are a few (to see a full list, click here).

Distinguished Service Award
Given to a person or persons who have exhibited valuable professional service and excellence in teaching.  Deadline April 1  

Media Literacy Award
This award showcases NCTE members who have developed innovative approaches for integrating media analysis and composition into their instruction.  Deadline June 30

Outstanding Middle Level Educator Award 
This award is sponsored by the language arts magazine Scholastic Scope and recognizes exceptional English language arts teachers of grades 6-8 who have demonstrated excellence in teaching English language arts and inspired a spirit of inquiry and a love of learning in their students.  Deadline May 1

Richard W. Halle Award 
Honors a junior high/middle level educator who has worked to promote understanding of the developmental needs and characteristics of young adolescents, especially in the English language arts.